Room 1
Children stay and eat breakfast free (rules apply).

Corporate Overview

Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia has a strong commitment to social responsibility. All profits are reinvested in the Indigenous Land Corporation's (ILC) Indigenous training and development across Australia.

Board of Directors

Lisa Gay - Chairperson

Ms Gay is Deputy Chairperson of the Indigenous Land Corporation (ILC) and is a non-executive director of Koda Capital and the Victorian Funds Management Corporation. Ms Gay is also a member of the Council of Trustees of the National Gallery of Victoria. From 1990 – 2010 Ms Gay was General Counsel & Managing Director of the Goldman Sachs Group Australia and its predecessor JBWere and Son.

Ian Ward-Ambler - Deputy Chair

Mr Ward-Ambler Chairs the Mutitjulu Foundation, serves as Chair or the Indigenous Land Corporation’s Finance, Legal and Investment Committee, is vice Chair of ANROWS, and an Executive Coach. He is a Member of the Trinity College Board, and Chair of the Indigenous Program Steering Committee at Melbourne Grammar School and an Advisory Board Member, Indigenous Leadership, Excellence and Achievement Program (ILEAP) at Melbourne University.

Patricia (Trish) Angus PSM - Director

Trish Angus is a Jawoyn woman and grew up in her home town of Katherine in the Northern Territory. She has experience and specialist knowledge in strategic policy, legislation, reporting and program and project development, along with operational and customer support.

Trish held senior executive public sector positions in the human services areas of health, housing, local government and community services for more than 20 years. She has experience of working in the Australian Defence Force, community controlled health organisations, and extensive governance experience, including board and committee memberships across a range of sectors.

Trish holds a Masters of Tropical/Public Health and has completed a public sector Executive Development Program and the Executive Fellows Program of the Australia and New Zealand School of Government. Trish retired from full time work in early 2012 and since then has taken up a range of governance roles.

She is a Director of CareFlight, Indigenous Business Australia (IBA) and Top End Health Services (TEHS) Boards and a member on the Charles Darwin University Vice Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Council. Trish is a member of the Audit and Risk Committees of CareFlight and IBA and the Finance Risk and Audit and Health Outcomes Committees of TEHS.

George Bedwani - Director

Mr Bedwani has extensive international corporate hotel and hospitality experience including as General Manager of the Hotel InterContinental (Sydney), Group General Manager of Accor’s Darling Harbour hotels and General Manager of Cypress Lakes Resort (including the Golf Club and Elysia Health Retreat and Golden Door).  Mr Bedwani was most recently the Chief Operating Officer of Transmetro Corporation Limited, an ASX listed company which operates the Metro Hotels chain. Metro Hotels manages a portfolio of 14 hotels and apartments as well as the Dugong Beach Resort on Groote Eylandt on behalf of the Anandilyakwa traditional owners. Mr Bedwani has been appointed as a hospitality advisor for Tourism Accommodation Australia (TAA) and Australian Hotels Association (AHA) NSW.  Mr Bedwani is a member of the AHA/TAA Northern Territory National Board.

Mr Bedwani was an attaché for the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Owen Cole - Director

Mr Cole has been active in Indigenous affairs for over 30 years.  Mr Cole is based in Alice Springs and has strong links to local Indigenous communities. He is currently Managing Director of Yeperenye Pty Ltd which has significant business interests in Central Australia.

Patricia Crossin - Director

Ms Trish Crossin is a former Senator in the Federal Parliament of Australia. She was the first woman to represent the Northern Territory and was she was elected to the Senate in 1998, a position she held for 15 years.

She was Chair of the Senate Legal and Constitutional Committee, Chair of the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People and a Member of the Senate Education, Employment and Workplace Relations Committee and she also held the position of Deputy Whip.

Trish has extensive knowledge of the public and private sectors and direct government experience with a proven ability to identify goals and achieve sustainable and successful change. Her areas of expertise include comprehensive knowledge of the challenges of rural and remote Australia, government relations, education funding and policy and a commitment to gender equality and women’s policy and development.

Ms Crossin is a current Director and former President of Netball NT, Chair of the Mawul Rom Course Advisory Committee at Charles Darwin University, Director with Asthma Foundation of Victoria and St Columba’s College Pty Ltd.

Ms Crossin is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Bachelor of Education.

Peter Thomas - Director

Mr Thomas has strong governance and financial skills.  He has been a Director of Indigenous Business Australia (IBA) since 2007 where he chairs the Finance, Investment and Performance Committee. He was a Director of The Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education from 2010 to 2016, where he chaired the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.   In addition, Peter holds or has held a number of Directorships of non-profit organisations, including The Museum of Contemporary Art, KTF (The Kokoda Track Foundation) and The Bluearth Foundation. He was a partner with KPMG for 25 years.

He chairs the Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia Audit and Risk Management Committee.

George Teasdale - Associate Director

Dr Teasdale is an Executive Director of Wana Ungkunytja Pty Ltd, a company owned by the Nyangatjatjara Aboriginal Corporation. He taught comparative, cross-cultural, Indigenous and international studies in education at Flinders University for 35 years, worked on numerous education aid projects, mainly in the Asia Pacific region, and has had a long association with UNESCO.